Uncovering Fraction Misconceptions through True and False cards

Screen Shot 2015-03-20 at 06.19.36 Having been inspired by some ideas from Resourceaholic and also from Robert Wilne @NCETMsecondary here, I thought I’d create these True or False cards for use with Year 7.  We have covered fraction of an amount, equivalent fractions, adding fractions, and top heavy / mixed numbers so far, but you could easily adapt these if you want to include, for example, multiplying and dividing fractions. I designed the false ones first which really got me thinking about misconceptions that I think could be occurring.  The true ones were relatively straightforward after that.  Enjoy!

Here they are as a Word doc: Fractions True False cards And if the formatting looks a bit weird, as a pdf doc: Fractions True False cards

6 thoughts on “Uncovering Fraction Misconceptions through True and False cards”

  1. I like these – and I agree that starting with the wrong ones is very instructive. Should the first one be either shaded area = 4/7 or blank area = 3/7?

    Like

    1. Thanks for that. I need to go through and check a number of links but I think I have fixed this one. Please try it and let me know if it is still not working.

      Like

Leave a comment